Skip to content


The 22nd Annual Amer Ari Intercollegiate
Hosted by Waikoloa Beach Resort
February 1-3, 2012

WAIKOLOA, KOHALA COAST, HAWAII—The 22nd Annual Amer Ari Intercollegiate golf tournament tees off at Waikoloa Beach Resort, on Wednesday, February 1st, on the renowned Tom Weiskopf-designed Kings’ Course. The tournament runs through Friday, February 3.

A total of 20 teams are participating in the Amer Ari this year, including eight of the top 15 ranked teams in the U.S. The No. 1-ranked Longhorns of the University of Texas and the No. 2-ranked University of Oregon Ducks—led by the No. 1-ranked NCAA player in the country, senior Eugene Wong—are both competing. The Longhorns young standout, Jordan Spieth, who impressed PGA Tour pros and the golf world alike with his strong showings in the Valero Texas Open over the past several season when he was still in high school, is also participating.

“The Amer Ari is one of the most important collegiate tournaments of the year,” says Earl Tamiya, men’s head golf coach at the University of Hawaii Hilo, which is the tournament host. “Past winners have gone on to realize great success on the professional tours and in golf. We are proud to have it played on the Big Island!”

Past medalists in the tourney include some of today’s best-known PGA Tour stars, including Notah Begay (Stanford, 1994), Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech, 1999 and 2000) and Anthony Kim (Oklahoma, 2004).

“The public is welcome to come watch these young stars,” says Kevin Ginoza, head golf professional at Waikoloa Beach Resort. “It will be interesting to see how they handle the challenges of the Kings’ Course, particularly if we get some wind.”

Admission is free. To see the complete list of teams and players participating, and to follow the scoring live please visit

All rounds will be played at the Kings’ Course starting at 7:30 am.

Amer Ari at Waikoloa Beach Resort Tournament Schedule

Practice Round Jan. 31
1st Round Feb. 1
2ndRound Feb. 2
Final Round Feb. 3

All rounds will be played at the Kings’ Course starting at 7:30 am.

Tournament History

Year & Team Individual Medalist
1991 OklahomaState Craig Hainline,OklahomaState
1992 UNLV Alan Bratton,OkalahomaState
1993 Arkansas ToddDempsey,ArizonaState
1994 ArizonaState Notah Begay, Stanford
1995 OklahomaState Chris Hanell,ArizonaState
1996 OklahomaState Jim Skinner, SMU
1997 UNLV Bill Lunde, UNLV
1998 UNLV James Watt, Nevada-Reno
1999 Georgia Tech MattKuchar,GeorgiaTech
2000 Georgia Tech MattKuchar,GeorgiaTech
Bryce Molder, Georgia Tech
2001 Texas Sprague Kolp, Nevado-Reno
2002 Georgia Tech TroyMatteson,GeorgiaTech
2003 UCLA Adam Meyer, TCU
2004 Georgia Tech Anthony Kim,Oklahoma
2005 OklahomaState Tyler Leon,OklahomaState
2006 Georgia Tech CameronTringale,GeorgiaTech
2007 Oklahoma Jonathan Moore,OklahomaState
2008 Stanford Jesper Kennegard,ArizonaState
2009 USC Nick Taylor, Washington
2010 OklahomaState Daniel Miernicki,Oregon

Waikoloa Beach Resort is situated on 1,350 acres of the beautiful Kohala Coast on the Hawaii’s Big Island – the Golf Capital of the Hawaii. Waikoloa features two fabulous golf courses with unique layouts specificallydesignedto challenge shot-making skills while letting golfers enjoy the magnificent beauty of theBigIsland: views of the majestic, often-times snow-cappedMauna KeaMountainandthe warm, tranquilPacific Ocean.

For more information, contact the Kings’ Course at (808) 886-5375

Kevin Ginoza (808) 886-5375
January 31, 2012

[email protected]

Back To Top