Skip to content

23rd Annual Amer Ari Intercollegiate Golf Tournament

For Immediate Release

Venerable Kings’ Course will be Host Venue for the
23rd Annual Amer Ari Intercollegiate Golf Tournament at Waikoloa Beach Resort

WAIKOLOA, KOHALA COAST, HAWAII—The 23rd Annual Amer Ari at Waikoloa Beach Resort will be taking place on Feb, 6-8, with all rounds being played on the renowned Tom Weiskopf-designed Kings’ Course.

A total of 20 teams are scheduled to participate in the Amer Ari this year, including eight of the top 25 ranked teams in the U.S. Golf fans will get a chance to see the No. 2 ranked Texas Longhorns defend their title. No. 1-ranked NCAA player Washington sophomore, Pan Cheng-Tsung, who is coming off a strong fall season will also be a strong contender for the individual title. Along with other notables include, No. 3 ranked, Pontus Widergren of UCLA, No. 4 ranked Talor Gooch of Oklahoma State, and No. 5 ranked Patrick Rodgers of Stanford.

“The Amer Ari at Waikoloa Beach Resort is one of the most important collegiate tournaments of the year,” says Earl Tamiya, Men’s Head Golf Coach at the University of Hawaii Hilo, which is the tournament host. “Past winners have gone on to realize great success on the professional tours and in golf. We are proud to have it played on the Big Island!”

Past medalists in the tourney include some of today’s best-known PGA Tour stars, including Notah Begay (Stanford, 1994), Matt Kuchar (Georgia Tech, 1999 and 2000) and Anthony Kim (Oklahoma, 2004).

“The public is welcome to come watch these young stars,” says Kevin Ginoza, Head Golf Professional at Waikoloa Beach Resort. “It will be interesting to see how they handle the challenges of the Kings’ Course, particularly if we get some wind.”

There is no admission charge.

Amer Ari at Waikoloa Beach Resort Tournament Schedule

Practice Round Feb. 5 Tuesday
1st Round Feb. 6 Wednesday
2nd Round Feb. 7 Thursday
Final Round Feb. 8 Friday

All rounds will be played at the Kings’ Course starting at 7:30 am.

Tournament History

Year Team Individual Medalist
1992 Oklahome State Craig Hainline, Oklahoma State
1993 UNLV Alan Bratton, Okalahoma State
1994 Arkansas Todd Dempsey, Arizona State
1995 Arizona State Notah Begay, Stanford
1996 Oklahoma State Chris Hanell, Arizona State
1997 Oklahoma State Jim Skinner, SMU
1998 UNLV Bill Lunde, UNLV
1999 UNLV James Watt, Nevada-Reno
2000 Georgia Tech Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Carlton Forrester, Georgia Tech
2001 Georgia Tech Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
Sprague Kolp, Nevada-Reno
2002 Texas Bryce Molder, Georgia Tech
2003 Georgia Tech Troy Matteson, Georgia Tech
2004 UCLA Adam Meyer, TCU
2005 Georgia Tech Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
2006 Oklahoma State Tyler Leon, Oklahoma State
2007 Georgia Tech Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
2008 Oklahoma Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State
2009 Stanford Jesper Kennegard, Arizona State
2010 USC Nick Taylor, Washington
2011 Oklahoma State Daniel Miernicki, Oregon
2012 Texas Jeffery Kang, USC

Waikoloa Beach Resort is situated on 1,350 acres of the beautiful Kohala Coast on the Hawaii’s Big Island – the Golf Capital of the Aloha State. Waikoloa features two fabulous golf courses with unique layouts specifically designed to challenge shot-making skills while letting golfers enjoy the magnificent beauty of the Big Island: views of the majestic, often-times snow-capped Mauna Kea Mountain and the warm, tranquil Pacific Ocean.

Kevin Ginoza

Back To Top